50 Years

It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 8:24 am

All times are UTC

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 1 post ] 
 Post subject: Home built organ request
New postPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:05 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Folks. This is a copy of an email I received.

Hi,

My Father started building a mechanical fairground organ about 15 years ago. He died in December leaving a half finished project. As a family we would be delighted if anyone reading this email was interested enough to get in touch with a view to using the project my Dad had started to help with their own.

I am not very technical so I am unsure what information you need but here goes...and please excuse my ignorance. He used various references for the project including a book called "Building a Small Fairground Organ or an Electronic Book for an Existing Organ" by James Anderton from Lancashire. He had corresponded with "Jim" on a few occasions as there are some letters in my Dads personal effects. He also used another book "Organ Building for Amateurs..a Practical Guide for Home Workers" by Mark Wicks.

My Dad built a large unit to enclose the organ's bits and pieces...it's not great in terms of aesthetic quality..my guess is it's the other bits that will be of greater interest..pipes, solenoids etc.